Skip to content
Loading Events

« All Events

Ormonde Ensemble

22 February 2024 @ 12:45 pm 1:45 pm

£7 Adults

Tickets on the door (cash or card). Under 18s and carers go free

Doors open at 12:15 pm

Aylesbury Lunchtime Music

View Organiser Website

St Mary the Virgin

Church Street
Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire HP20 2JJ United Kingdom
+ Google Map
Wind quintet


Alec Ross


Bruce Parris


Cara Houghton


Helena Mackie


Isaac Prince


Notes on the performers

Ormonde Ensemble are a London-based wind quintet who are quickly establishing themselves on the UK’s professional music scene, both collectively and individually. They are particularly passionate about seeking out, commissioning, and performing lesser-known and underrepresented works, and their diverse range of musical experiences allows them to explore more familiar wind quintet repertoire with a fresh and engaging approach.

The quintet have a wealth of performance experience, giving numerous recitals at prominent venues in London and around the UK. Ormonde Ensemble also share a strong commitment to outreach and education work. In 2022/23, they were fellows on Wigmore Hall’s acclaimed Chamber Tots training programme, in which they delivered exciting, engaging, and original musical workshops for young children. They have experience leading educational projects in schools, and are looking forward to expanding this work over the coming year, with the support of an RCM Accelerate grant.

Individually, the group’s players have an extensive and varied range of professional experiences. These include playing with many of the UK’s major symphony orchestras, including the LSO, RPO, LPO, Orchestra of the ROH Covent Garden, RLPO, Philharmonia Orchestra, CBSO, BBC Concert Orchestra, BBC NOW, Ulster Orchestra and the London Mozart Players. The members have also received further professional training through schemes such as the LPO’s Foyle Future Firsts programme and the London Sinfonietta Academy, as well as carrying out outreach and education work around the country with Live Music Now and the RSNO.


Programme notes